Meet the Author: Mary E. Lambert
contemporary middle grade / Meet the Author / Swanky 17s

Meet the Author: Mary E. Lambert

When Mary E. Lambert was eight years old, her grandma told her that she should be a writer. Mary said, “No.” She thought she’d rather be a teacher. Many years later, Mary realized there was no avoiding one of her grandma’s pronouncements, and she started to write novels. In 2014, Mary graduated from Vermont College of Fine Arts with … Continue reading

Meet the Author: Carter Higgins
contemporary middle grade / Swanky 17s

Meet the Author: Carter Higgins

Carter is a librarian at an independent school in Los Angeles and the author of two forthcoming picture books from Chronicle Books. She is an Emmy-winning visual effects and motion graphics artist whose career has covered all the nooks and crannies of visual storytelling. She writes about picture books and graphic design at her blog, Design of the Picture … Continue reading

Debut Club: Peter Brown Hoffmeister Opens Up about THIS IS THE PART WHERE YOU LAUGH
contemporary YA

Debut Club: Peter Brown Hoffmeister Opens Up about THIS IS THE PART WHERE YOU LAUGH

Swanky Seventeener Amy Giles chats with Peter Brown Hoffmeister, author of the YA contemporary novel THIS IS THE PART WHERE YOU LAUGH, which has been published by Knopf Books for Young Readers. ABOUT THE NOVEL Fans of Andrew Smith and Matt de la Pena will be captivated by this summer-in-the-life of a teenage guy growing up in … Continue reading

Debut Club / Uncategorized

The Debut Club: Interview with Jill Diamond about LOU LOU & PEA AND THE MURAL MYSTERY

Swanky Seventeeners Leah Henderson and Mary Lambert recently chatted with Jill Diamond about her debut middle grade, LOU LOU & PEA AND THE MURAL MYSTERY (Farrar, Straus and Giroux, October 18, 2016). About the Book: Meet best friends, Lou Lou Bombay and Peacock Pearl! Lou Lou loves horticulture and Pea loves art. Every Friday afternoon, … Continue reading