contemporary YA / Meet the Author / Swanky 17s

Meet the Author: Lilliam Rivera

Lilliam Rivlillam-riveraera is a 2016 Pushcart Prize winner and a 2015 Clarion alumni. Lilliam’s work has appeared in Tin House, Los Angeles Times, Latina, USA Today, among others. She hosts a monthly radio show Literary Soundtrack and lives in Los Angeles.

Her debut novel, THE EDUCATION OF MARGOT SANCHEZ (Simon & Schuster, February 21, 2017) is a YA Contemporary. After getting busted charging $600 on her father’s credit card, Margot Sanchez is forced to spend the summer working off her debt at her family’s failing supermarket in the South Bronx. This summer, Margot will learn to navigate her conflicted feelings towards identity, family, and friendship.

Fun facts:

The two or three items she needs to have with her when she sits down to write: Smarties candy, peanut butter M&Ms, and ginger beer. Lots of ginger beer.

Her favorite childhood book: My favorite childhood book was Babar Visits Another Planet. I loved the book so much that I eventually went on Ebay to buy a copy of it for my kids. Another book I loved is Judy Blume’s Deenie. Judy Blume was the first writer that I actually made it a point to remember name and because I suffered from scoliosis I felt as if Judy was writing about my life with Deenie.

Her hobbies when she’s not writing/reading: I love street art and like to take walks in my neighborhood to see the latest artwork.

If she could travel anywhere in the world, she’d go: There are so many places I have to yet to visit but on my list is El Museo Frida Kahlo known as La Casa Azul in Mexico City. I’m a huge fan and her work is such an influence to me.
 

Where You’ll Find Her:

Website/Twitter/Facebook/Goodreads Author/Goodreads Book/Instagram

 

Leave a Reply

