contemporary middle grade / Swanky 17s

Meet the Author: Carter Higgins

carter-higgens

Carter is a librarian at an independent school in Los Angeles and the author of two forthcoming picture books from Chronicle Books. She is an Emmy-winning visual effects and motion graphics artist whose career has covered all the nooks and crannies of visual storytelling. She writes about picture books and graphic design at her blog, Design of the Picture Book. 

Her debut novel, A RAMBLER STEALS HOME (HMH Books for Young Readers, February 28, 2017) is a MG Contemporary. Eleven-year-old Derby Christmas Clark is a rambler of the road. She travels year-round in an RV with her father and younger brother, selling Christmas trees during the cold months and burgers and fries during baseball season. Derby always did prefer grease splatters to hauling trees, so she’s excited that summer will take her back to small town Ridge Creek, the Rockskippers, her best friend, and her surrogate mom, June. But this summer, a tragedy has changed Ridge Creek and as Derby tries to help those she loves, long-held secrets are revealed. This warm-hearted southern debut is perfect for fans of Kate DiCamillo and Sheila Turnage.

 

Fun Facts:

The two or three items she needs to have with her when she sits down to write: All I really need is my notebook, my favorite Sharpie pens, and my computer.
The literary character she’d most like to meet: I’d love to meet the girls from The Babysitter’s Club. They are smart and savvy and so good at friendship.
Her favorite childhood book: Anything with Ramona in it. And Go, Dog. Go! 
Her hobbies when she’s not writing/reading: I like talking about other people’s books. It’s hard to turn off being a school librarian and a book blogger. Though I love a weekend that includes coffee, fantasy football, and my favorite Pilates class.
Her favorite Muppet and why: Kermit, because The Rainbow Connection on his banjo is exquisite.
The craziest thing you did when you were 17: I was probably reading. Or trying to taste every flavor of Fruitopia.
If she could travel anywhere in the world, she’d go: Iceland. Is there a place more beautiful?
Where You’ll Find Her:
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s