Meet the Author: Robin Roe
contemporary YA / Meet the Author / Swanky 17s

Meet the Author: Robin Roe

Robin Roe has a bachelor’s degree from Cornell University and a master’s from Harvard. She counseled adolescents in Boston before she moved to Dallas to run a mentoring program for at-risk teens. Her debut novel, A LIST OF CAGES (Disney-Hyperion, January 10, 2017) is a YA Contemporary novel. A LIST OF CAGES—a contemporary YA novel Emma … Continue reading

Debut Club: Peter Brown Hoffmeister Opens Up about THIS IS THE PART WHERE YOU LAUGH
contemporary YA

Debut Club: Peter Brown Hoffmeister Opens Up about THIS IS THE PART WHERE YOU LAUGH

Swanky Seventeener Amy Giles chats with Peter Brown Hoffmeister, author of the YA contemporary novel THIS IS THE PART WHERE YOU LAUGH, which has been published by Knopf Books for Young Readers. ABOUT THE NOVEL Fans of Andrew Smith and Matt de la Pena will be captivated by this summer-in-the-life of a teenage guy growing up in … Continue reading

Meet the Author: Tricia Levenseller
contemporary YA / Fantasy YA / Meet the Author / Swanky 17s

Meet the Author: Tricia Levenseller

Initially from a small town in Oregon, Tricia now lives next to the Rocky Mountains with her bossy dog, Rosy. She received her degree in English Language and editing and is thrilled that she never has to read a textbook again. When she’s not writing or reading, Tricia enjoys putting together jigsaw puzzles, playing volleyball, and watching shows … Continue reading

Meet the Author: Lilliam Rivera
contemporary YA / Meet the Author / Swanky 17s

Meet the Author: Lilliam Rivera

Lilliam Rivera is a 2016 Pushcart Prize winner and a 2015 Clarion alumni. Lilliam’s work has appeared in Tin House, Los Angeles Times, Latina, USA Today, among others. She hosts a monthly radio show Literary Soundtrack and lives in Los Angeles. Her debut novel, THE EDUCATION OF MARGOT SANCHEZ (Simon & Schuster, February 21, 2017) … Continue reading

Meet the Author: Jilly Gagnon
contemporary YA / Meet the Author / Swanky 17s

Meet the Author: Jilly Gagnon

Jilly Gagnon writes young adult fiction, comedy, and personal essays. In the past her work has appeared in Newsweek, Elle, The Toast, The Hairpin, Vanity Fair, The Onion, and McSweeney’s Internet Tendency, among others. Her comedy book series, Choose Your Own Misery (co-authored with  Mike MacDonald), debuted in 2016. So far three titles are planned. She’s much less funny at cocktail parties … Continue reading